On Little Society: Part I

I had some recent inspiration to start writing about little social things again. I use little because I explore these things which I know is more often than not of less importance than other possible things to write about, like Trending News and related Insights, or maybe Travel and Home. Man, if blogposts were on a TV schedule I think mine would be on the kids’ channel. It’s really a little society that I examine, just a fraction of big society, but an emerging one nonetheless – the teenager society. Yes, there are 1,001 ways to typify and stereotype it but there are lessons to be learnt nonetheless.

My favourite components include:

  1. Conform vs Transform
  2. The Clique Factor
  3. The Popularity Scale
  4. Factors in the Scale
    1. Friends
    2. Relationships
    3. Intro-, Extro-
  5. Functions of Truth
  6. etc.

I found it hard to actually make that list considering how random some of the interesting things really come to me (i.e. from some untraceable string of thought that quickly disappears). Maybe I’ll get more as I come along.

I like observing. It’s the one thing people think they do a lot but don’t realise they don’t. It’s also the one thing people think they don’t do but some way or another realise they do. You can think of several examples. Firstly, seeing is not the same as observing. There are the great detectives (fictional or not) like Sherlock Holmes, insisting that those around him (especially John) “…see, but do not observe!” Secondly, observation does not need to come consciously, as I think is the case with myself. There are those subtle, underground connections made in the brain that can sometimes give us small clues about our surroundings, which eventually surface as deductions or inferences. It’s easy to skip the ‘observation’ part. Nonetheless most of what I post about this whole thing will be general deductions or rules from my observations of ‘my’ society.

To start of, I’ll share what I mean with Conform/Transform. That much is apparent indeed. What else is? That that forward slash there (/) is often blurred beyond recognition. That it is indeed difficult to draw the metaphorical line between changing and being changed. Any action has an equal but opposite reaction? Possible. It’s definitely wise to say it’s difficult to join any particular society and have absolutely no impact on that group, while you are totally compliant and mouldable to suit that community. One way or another you change some aspect of the society you join. Exactly what is interesting is the degree of compliance (I’ll call it C). We’ll examine some factors that result in a final C value:

  • General group bond type
  • Individual resistance
  • Initial difference

Maybe I’ll add more as I come along. We can define a (new) individual’s C as the qualitative extent to which the person complies (i.e. adapts) to a group setting. I know this is hardly unexplored and I’m far from the first here. But I’m not the last. So I do note that a final C value is dependent on the above factors. You have to find out the degree of difference between the individual and the group at the start (Ti – Tg), all calculated in arbitrary qualitative units. The extent of individual resistance must be known (R[i]), as in the resistance to compliance. I feel bond type is also important. What type of group is this? It’s absolutely critical to know how the members view each other and the value assigned to the respective relationships. We could create a scale to determine the said value of the bond, which should be able to correspond to a degree-style ranking of different types of relationships (e.g. colleagues, friends, etc. in increasing value). For now we just put this as a whole number x btw 1-10. Higher x, lower C, as seen below.

So this is how I would explain the relationship between all the factors.

C = (Ti – Tg)/(R[i] * x)

I am sometimes a queer person. But apart from expressing my views in this manner, what else can we say about social integration and differentiation of (presumably new) members of a group? By all accounts, the higher the C, the harder to differentiate after the member integration; converse is true. Indeed, wherever you find ease in fitting in and do so well, the harder you think it will be if you suddenly left the community permanently.

Honestly this is not all but I do not like thinking for long periods at once. When stuff come, they will, even if they don’t make sense it’s worth just posting for fun.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “On Little Society: Part I

  1. Pingback: A Little Link? | Random Blotches

Leave a Reply

